Riverside Girls High School logo

Riverside Girls High School

Riverside Girls High School

Facta Non Verba

Telephone02 9816 4264


Student life and learning

Find out more about what your child will learn at our school.

The NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) is responsible for the curriculum, Kindergarten to Year 12, for all NSW schools.

For the high school years, NESA develops syllabuses for all subjects in 8 key learning areas:

  • creative arts
  • English
  • human society and its environment (HSIE)
  • languages
  • mathematics
  • personal development, health and physical education (PDHPE)
  • science
  • technological and applied studies (TAS).

NSW schools also offer special religious education and special education in ethics via approved providers, where available.

Like all NSW schools, we have developed teaching and learning programs to suit our local context and the needs of our students.

To learn more about the curriculum in NSW, visit:

Stages of learning

There are 6 stages of learning from Kindergarten to Year 12. High school covers Stages 4 to 6.

  • Stage 4 includes Years 7 and 8.
  • Stage 5 includes Years 9 and 10.
  • Stage 6 includes Years 11 and 12.

Riverside Girls High School learning environment

Riverside boasts the charm of an Edwardian style façade and extensive grounds with treed open space and shaded areas.

Our modern facilities includes:

  • state of the art technology including six computer labs
  • a fully equipped performance hall
  • gymnasium
  • a well resourced library including private study area for year 11
  • music performance spaces and practice rooms
  • a healthy canteen
  • a fully equipped commercial kitchen
  • an outdoor classroom within a sustainable garden
  • an indigenous herb garden
  • an undercover eating area
  • access to Gladesville Reserve sporting areas

Excellence in learning

At Riverside Girls we create a learning environment that encourages students to challenge themselves to achieve their best. 

Ongoing professional learning enables our teachers to build upon their knowledge and strengths providing students with quality learning experiences that challenge, inspire and excite. In particular, this professional learning has focussed on differentiation, which really means inspiring all students in different ways to reach their potential.

Our curriculum is innovative and vibrant, preparing students to be successful 21st century global citizens. Our recent innovations in teaching include collaborative curriculum projects in Year 7 and 8 and project based learning in Year 9 with a focus on assessing specific literacy skills in all assessment tasks. 

Cross curriculum priorities

  • Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander histories and cultures 
  • Asia and Australia’s engagement with Asia 
  • sustainability

General capabilities

  • critical and creative thinking 
  • ethical understanding 
  • information and communication technology capability 
  • intercultural understanding 
  • literacy 
  • numeracy 
  • personal and social capability

Other learning across the curriculum areas

  • civics and citizenship
  • difference and diversity
  • work and enterprise.

© NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) for and on behalf of the Crown in right of the State of New South Wales, 2012