Riverside Girls High School

Facta Non Verba

Telephone 02 9816 4264


Technological and applied studies

Technological and applied studies (TAS) is mandatory for all students in Year 7 and 8. Students can also select from a range of elective TAS subjects.

In TAS, students use a range of tools, materials and techniques in the design process and technological experiences through theory and practical lessons. As well as the mandatory study of technology, students can select from a range of elective TAS subjects.

The continuum of technology learning is:

  • based on students becoming increasingly sophisticated in their ability to design and produce solutions for authentic needs and opportunities
  • an option for student specialisation in high school through a range of syllabuses addressing particular technologies and aspects of design.

Available courses include:

  • Design and technology 7-10
  • food technology 7-10
  • graphics technology 7-10
  • information and software technology 7-10
  • textiles technology 7-10
  • design and technology stage 6
  • food technology stage 6
  • industrial technology multimedia stage 6
  • information processes and technology stage 6
  • software design and development stage 6
  • textiles and design stage 6
  • hospitality stage 6.


All TAS subjects except for technology mandatory in Stage 4 are electives. Stage 5 and 6 classes run according to elective demand and they are subject to change.